Damn you WordPress

March 31, 2012

How do I get this damn thing to space poems properly? I haven’t been able to do it since I opened this account. The first one I posted was a sonnet and sonnets only have fourteen lines that run along one stanza. The second was an improvisation so it didn’t need spacing for stanzas and whatnot, the Haiku was a Haiku, and on the last one I actually gave up and just put indents which I ended up liking.

I’m trying to post one of L.’s poems. I can’t sleep.

I’m having this fear of falling asleep. It’s strange and I get it when I’m dealing with lots of anxiety. I just keep pacing, watching T.V., pacing again, laying down and getting up to pace some more all between crying bouts. I still feel like my body is coming apart at the seams. I knew L.’s funeral would be hard to deal with but I can’t even describe… No words. It simply made it more official. I can’t hide behind the false notion that I’ll just be able to pick up the phone and call him today, tomorrow, whenever.

So I wanted to publish one of the two poems A.F. had printed for the funeral, but I can’t seem to get it formatted properly. I’ve tried the forums. I’ve done the shift + enter deal. I’ve tried pasting it straight to HTML then formatting. I’ve tried formatting with <br></br> or <br/> in HTML. I’ve tried preformatting. I’ve tried typing it from scratch. I’ve tried pasting it only as plain text then doing all of the above over again.

What the hell man?

10 Responses to “Damn you WordPress”

  1. I know. I don’t understand the spacing either in WP. In Word, I had everything single-spaced and when I pasted, it double-spaced.

    Sorry to hear about L. I understand the importance of getting it right for this particular moment.

    • PAZ said

      Yeah, it’s important to get it right. I’d deleted two commas that were unnecessary but I think I should put them back in because that’s how he wrote it.

  2. clownonfire said

    Have you used the HTML tab instead of the “Visual”? This is what I do, and it allows me to do the single space (SHIFT + ENTER). It doesn’t work if I use the Visual tab.
    Le Clown

    • PAZ said

      I did. I used the HTML tab to copy the text into. Then I even deleted it so I could type it out in the HTML tab. I then used the
      tag but that didn’t work. Should I try SHIFT + ENTER inside of the HTML tab instead of the visual? I thought it would only work doing it there…
      Thanks!

  3. DeeDee said

    Yeah, couldn’t tell you – shift-enter works for me.

  4. I’m sorry to hear about L, and I hope you find some comfort soon; I often have troubles sleeping due to anxiety, and I empathise.

    WordPress spacing has often frustrated me.

    • PAZ said

      Appreciate the kind words. I’m sleeping very little these days, even with the Ambien; and I’m trying to get off it not take it more.

      The thing I’m having the most trouble with is thinking about how he must’ve felt/thought his last days (he wasn’t picking up the phone), knowing how much he struggled these last years and NOT knowing if it was a suicide, an overdose or just his body giving up.

      I figured out the spacing issue at least 🙂

  5. The only thing I might be able to add is that when you format with WP in HTML, you cannot switch back over to Visual at any time after, or most (sometimes all) of your formatting will be undone. So you have to make sure and hit Save, Publish, etc. straight from the HTML view. It took me a few tries to figure this one out.

    My sympathies are with you during this difficult time.

    • PAZ said

      Thank you so much Ruby.

      And thank for confirming what I’d suspected. I sort of figured out that after I switched back to the visual editor over a dozen times and noticed it always reverted back no mater what formating I did.

      Hope you had a good Easter Sunday.

Spit it!

