Morning Becomes a Lecture On Mindfulness Until…

May 14, 2012

 

… a Mormon–or was it a Jehovah’s Witness?–yeah, a Jehovah’s Witness sees you taking pictures outside of your house and hands you a Watchtower magazine and asks you what you think of politics and religion’s role together. Shit, I shouldn’t have said anything because she went on to read me the scriptures and gave me a verse to prove that Jesus believed they SHOULD go together like merry little twins skipping on the sidewalk.

“It’s the ONLY way, as Jesus saw it. We shouldn’t base things on what we feel,” she emphasized. She had a point about feeling. In fact, mindfulness is partly accepting feeling without judging it; and, in a sense, feeling without judging the feeling is not “basing things on feeling”. But it’s the context that’s all wrong. This lady here thinks, oh never mind…

Is basing things on what we THINK ok? I wanted to ask but kept my mouth shut.

It’s a good thing I DO know my scriptures because when I was a Christian kid, a good little demonic Christian kid, I loved all of those stories–especially the GOREY ones–and I’d read them on my own, no need to ask me, I just read! And I’m sure Jesus is shaking his sweet bearded head right now like, “uh uh lady, that ain’t how it went and that IS NOT how I said it”.

Now, I like me some Jesus. But dear Lord have mercy on me (this is where I get my southern girl-like accent), them Mormons and Jehovah’s Witnesses just don’t shut the fuck up do they? Ever. The Witnesses need to get off the stand; ain’t no judge called them yet!

This just makes me want to replay, “Judith” by A Perfect Circle.

Anyway (sorry Mormon and Jehovah Witness bloggies, it’s true though). I took pictures this morning because again, I woke up at 6am all jittery, after only sleeping four hours. Blagh. I still feel like ripping my skin off! But I figured I’d get some things done and I did! I also went outside with my camera and my borrowed macro lens and snapped away.

I think I’ll start adding these to my Photos and Sample Work Page”

*THESE ARE NOT WATERMARKED BECAUSE THEY’RE FRESH OUT THE OVEN! But they are ALL COPYRIGHTED BY ME, PAZ, MOUSE, P, Shorty Shore the Most Hardcore*

Enjoy.

Some are overexposed. Oh well.


*********************************************************************************************************

“We don’t see things as they are, we see things as we are” ~ Anais Nin

5 Responses to “Morning Becomes a Lecture On Mindfulness Until…”

  1. They just love to knock on my door at the most inconvenient times. Great picks by the way, love the closed flower with the dust on it…

  2. Great macros mouse! Love the dusty purple one. One of the good things about living on a boat, so far neither Jehovas or Morms has knocked on the hull.

    • PAZ said

      Thank you Anette. I needs more practice. I’ve just discovered why I’m a macro girl… Tell you why later. hehe. I love leaving people in suspense. 😉

  3. the howler and me said

    I love taking macro pictures… I am totally NOT a landscape kind of girl – I like the close up little worlds that get created with a macro lens…. Keep on practicing lady you are doing good 🙂

Spit it!

