An Update and A Sketch of Dadio

November 19, 2012

When I got to the psychology clinic at the university, there was no one at the front desk. In fact, the doors for the clinic were locked. I panicked for a few seconds and wondered if I had made a mistake and the offices would be closed for Thanksgiving. But the other clinic next door was open and students were on campus.

It took almost half an hour to finally get someone to let me in. By the time I got in, it was nearly 11:30. My appointment was for eleven. Turns out I was probably the only client scheduled for that day and my therapist had put me down for 1:00 pm instead of 11:00. So there was a communication issue. I kept telling myself that I should have called her Friday to confirm, but I can’t beat myself about something so minute.

****

Afterward, I headed to the hospital with my dad. He can get very naggy but here’s always there to help. We didn’t have to wait too long. Usually it’s about three to four hours, but we only had to wait about an hour-and-a-half.

The doc looked at my jaw and said everything looked like it’s healing up well. I got no follow-up! Unless there’s a problem, then I should call and schedule.  But I don’t think I’ll have to go back to that clinic ever again! Let’s hope not.

The jaw saga is coming to an end! And I have rescheduled with the therapist for tomorrow.

On another note, my jaw is currently hurting really bad. waaaah.

Oh, but here’s a quick sketch I drew of my dad while he fell asleep waiting in the hospital with me. (Forgot to draw his glasses.)

****

(c) paz

addendum: I can’t believe I forgot to mention Carter. I was having a lot of pain and left my purse in the car. That’s where I had my pain med. So my dad went down to the parking lot to get it for me. Since it was such a beautiful day and the doctors were at lunch, I went down with him. I waiting near the tunnel by a construction site on the front of the hospital. And this middle-aged black man comes up to me and asks if I’m waiting for my ride. I said I was waiting on my dad. He kept telling me how blessed he was. Then he said, “I just got out of prison yesterday. Thirty-five years, and I’m not going back”. We chatted for a bit about why we were at the hospital, and I told him to take care. He said he was so very happy to meet me and you could tell he really meant it. 🙂 The end.

4 Responses to “An Update and A Sketch of Dadio”

  1. Dorothy said

    That was a meaningful day for everyone all around. Hopefully the pain will pass soon and you will be free of it in due time. I like the drawing of your Dad, really nice! Have a good one today!!

  2. saradraws said

    Oh Mouse,
    LOVE the sketch. I know nothing of your dad, but I feel like I could take some pretty good guesses based on that. You captured a human, a personality.
    Sorry you’re in pain, but so glad you met that man. What a great story.

    • PAZ said

      Sara! That means a lot from the sketcher herself. I showed it to my brother via a picture I took of it on the phone. He said it looks just like him, but that it’s creepy. I don’t think it’s creepy. Oh well. I didn’t get to drawing the glasses ’cause he woke up. hehe. Yeah, I love meeting people like that man Carter.

Spit it!

